Google is rolling out new settings for Search Services History & Personalized Recommendations
Google is rolling out new settings for Search Services
History & Personalized Recommendations
There will be two new settings for personalization and your past in Google Search. "More control over saved history and personalized recommendations" is the objective. Users are beginning to receive notifications via email and within the app as this is being rolled out over the next few weeks. Previously, “Web & App Activity” and “Search Personalization” were responsible for Search history and personalization, respectively.
Google is now offering two independent preferences “to help you better tailor your experience.”
The new Search
Services History setting determines whether you want Google to save your
queries (past searches) and other activity in Search, Maps, Shopping, Flights,
Hotels, Translate, and News.
Search Services
History includes things like your searches, info from sites you visit with
Search services, and generative AI responses.
Saved Media is a
brand-new "subsetting" within Search Services History. If this
preference is enabled, Google will save your images, files, audio, and video
when using voice search, Google Lens, and Search Live. This can be disabled independently of the
main setting, while you “can also delete individual pieces of media from your
history.”
“For example, this
lets you revisit your past visual searches with Lens or continue a Search Live
conversation about a song you heard.”
“To support these
types of interactive product experiences, Google will now save your media to
your Search Services History, applying robust privacy and security
protections. Your saved media, like your
Search Services History, is utilized in the creation and enhancement of Google
services and technologies, such as AI models and safety measures.
In the meantime,
personalization and whether or not results are tailored to you are controlled
by the Personalized Recommendations setting. In order to determine whether
Search Services History and Personalized Recommendations are enabled or
disabled, Google will follow your previous settings. Your previous auto-delete
increment will also be preserved.
These new settings will remain active if they are turned on at the moment. If they’re off, the new settings will be off.
After receiving this
email, the new Search Services History and Personalized Recommendations
settings will go live over the next few days.
This rollout will take place over the coming weeks.
Comments
Post a Comment